Belief in imagination

Standard

Imagination is such a powerful thing isn’t it.  I have been noticing that my students are developing their imaginations more and more recently.  It is exciting to see.  They are so involved in the worlds that they create that sometimes the line between the real world and the imagined world is a very fine one!  It is fascinating to see how they navigate this.  Often they do not seem to want to switch out of their imagined world.  This can cause conflict.

This photo is of my daughter driving her car.  She was playing independently, driving around the area where her friends were playing.  As she drove around she was saying to herself “drive, drive”.  She kept this up for such a long time!  When it was time to go inside she demonstrated that she needed to drive her (imaginary) friend to her house and therefore was not ready to come inside yet.  We compromised and agreed that she would drop her friend off at a bust stop and then park the car before coming inside.  My daughter was happy with this and was then content to come in when ready.

Sometimes it can cause conflict between children.  For example this morning one child (A) was pretending they were another child’s (M) mother.  Suddenly the M no longer wanted to play but the A continued in the mother role.  M became upset because A was not in fact her mother and A was not recognizing that this was no longer a game for M.  It took some tactful suggestions to assist the children in working out a solution.

Hmm, I seem to have been focusing on the conflicts that can arise through imaginative play.  How sad!  I must apologize.  In fact I love to watch imaginations at work. I find it truly magical, exciting and energizing.  That children can have access to these wonderful worlds which they collaborate to create.  It gives me hope that through working with children I can try to ensure this skill is not completely lost in my adulthood!  I see that in the children the imagination is a powerful tool that enables them to develop a wider understanding of the world around them.  how lucky I am to have a front row seat in observing this!

Leave a Reply

