Exploring light

Gallery

A new area of teaching has been challenging my plans of late.  As I work to develop the Forest Playgroup, and eventually our new school, I need to take into account that we now have an increasingly mobile baby in our midst!  My youngest is nearly eight months old now and wants to be a part of everything we do.  This brings new challenges as I try to engage three year olds with a baby!

A few days ago I thought about the Reggio philosophy and remembered how I wanted to start enabling my baby daughter to explore a variety of materials.  As she is starting to want whatever her sister has I wanted offer her something particularly engaging.

I brought out some lights that have been stored away for a while.  It is basically like a heavyweight, transparent hosepipe, with lights inside.  Fairly indestructible!  You should have seen her eyes when I switched it on.

Not only was it captivating for her but her big sister couldn’t keep away!

Leave a Reply

