Fall is in the air

Standard

Somehow the change from summer to fall always seems to feel like the opportunity for renewal.  Maybe it is the teacher in me, with the school year programmed within me.  Now that we live in Virginia I am even more acutely aware of the changing seasons.  The leaves seem to have started turning early this year.  The mornings have been chilly and it has felt good to pad around in slippers and drink warm tea as we watch the sunrise (sometimes coffee is needed more though, after a long night with a teething little one!).

Anyway, I am excited about sharing new things that are on the horizon in this neck of the woods.  After a year or so of laying low on the internet front, I am ready to get back into the swing of things.

Next week (finger’s crossed) will see the launch of my new e-magazine.  More will be posted about this in the next few days.  It has been a lot of fun (and hard work) and I am excited about sharing it with you all. But more on this very soon!

My little Etsy store is seeing more fall inspired projects.  My daughters and I have been having a lot of fun learning about natural dye plants found in our area – my daughter now plays at “adding to her dye pot” and “making dye”.  We have been greatly inspired by the two books Harvesting Color and Wild Color.  If you are interested in natural dye, these are well worth getting.  We have been exploring with playsilks and will be adding some more fall inspired colors to the Etsy store soon.

 

Oh yes, and we can’t have cooler weather approaching without new knitted hats for the girls……and their dolls!  Actually, I ended up writing patterns for two little pixie style caps, with sizes for the whole family.  Yes, I have my own Forest Pixie Cap also now, much to my daughter’s delight!

One response »

Leave a Reply

