Off topic

Standard

Hello folks!

A little off topic today I am afraid.  I have been away from anything work related for the past couple of months.  My husband and youngest daughter (20 months) were diagnosed with Celiac Disease.  Oh my, we were not expecting that.  The little one had no real symptoms that we had noticed, it was just picked up on a routine screening following my husband’s diagnosis.  It seems my other daughter has escaped it for now, but we have decided it is simply easier for the whole family to go gluten free.

Well, I must say I had no idea how much wheat and oats* we ate in this house!  Whilst dinner seems to be not too much of a problem, breakfast and lunch are another story.  So, the last few months have been spent scouring the internet for good recipes and affordable ingredients.  All whole foods is wonderful but frustratingly it is more expensive and definitely more time consuming 😦

Anyway, I have found a few basic recipes (bread, muffins, cookies) which I am playing around with now and I feel I am finally able to stop worrying about my little one ingesting a grain of wheat (my husband is better able to look after himself!).  So, I am finding myself spending small moments reflecting on this new phase of our life and what I want my role to be.

I have been working on updating the magazine.  Check it out and let me know what you think

Maybe we will start up a spring session of the playgroup.  We have all been missing it.

Spring is coming and I can feel new hope in the air!

 

It turns out Oats are controversial when it comes to gluten, and you can buy ‘gluten free’ oats.  However, we have decided to steer clear of anything that may be contaminated until the disease is under control.

One response »

  1. Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

